Gallery Links
Users Online
· Guests Online: 28

· Members Online: 2
exonie, Juergen Peters

· Total Members: 4,953
· Newest Member: Adam Poole
Forum Threads
Theme Switcher
Switch to:
Last Seen Users
· Juergen PetersOnline
· exonieOnline
· evdb00:31:16
· Joerg Schneider00:35:31
· Carnifex00:43:31
· smol00:47:32
· beateSenf00:48:15
· Zeegers00:52:53
· ebbek00:59:28
· nowaytofly01:11:06
Latest Photo Additions
Circular 8th International Congress of Dipterology

10-15 August, 2014, Potsdam, Germany

http://www.icd8.org


Dear fellow Dipterists,

Preparations for the ICD8 proceed as planned and the scientific program is taking shape. In the first circular you were informed about the ICD8 organizing committee, venue, accommodation, fees, etc. Please visit our webpage at www.icd8.org for this and other information.

More than 150 dipterists have already registered their interest. At this point we would like to provide some preliminary information on the scientific program and the post congress tours, which will help you plan your attendance.

We make efforts to reach as many potential delegates as possible so please excuse if you receive this information more than once.

To assist us in planning ahead for the congress and shape the congress to everybody’s needs, please complete and return the attached form to Mrs. Sara Werner at sara.werner@pcma.de or via fax +49 (0) 30 - 76 76 84 -29.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

On behalf of the ICD8 Organizing committee,

Sincerely yours,

Marion Kotrba (ICD8 chair)

Registration of interest


Important Dates

Early registration: September 2013 - 1st February 2014

Regular registration: until 1st July 2014

Abstract submission deadline: 1st May 2014



Scientific Program

The Scientific Committee is headed by Netta Dorchin (ndorchin@post.tau.ac.il) and includes Daniel Bickel, Martin Hauser, Ashley Kirk-Spriggs and Rudolf Meier. The following is a preliminary list of plenary talks and symposia. Additional symposia are in planning and will be added to the program pending sufficient interest from potential speakers.

If you want to contribute to a specific symposium, please contact the relevant symposium organizer or Netta Dorchin (ndorchin@post.tau.ac.il). Contributed talks are most welcome! You can also submit talks on topics that are not represented in the following list or suggest additional symposia. Contributed talks will be allocated to appropriate symposia by the scientific committee.

Plenary talks

* Maureen Coetzee (RSA) - Mosquitoes and the prospects for malaria elimination
* Steve Marshall (Canada) - Dipteran diversity through a different lens: digital photography and the democratization of dipterology
* Rudolf Meier (Singapore) - Using genomics, morphology, and behavior to reveal the creative power of sexual selection in Sepsidae
* Thomas Pape (Denmark) - Europe as a frontier in fly diversity research

Symposia

* Advances in Neotropical Dipterology - Claudio Carvalho cjbcarva@ufpr.br, Marcia Couri courimarcia@gmail.com, Marta Wolff marta_wolff@yahoo.com
* Behavioral ecology - Wolf Blanckenhorn wolf.blanckenhorn@uzh.ch
* Bibionomorpha - Chris Borkent chris.borkent@mail.mcgill.ca
* Biodiversity surveys - Marc Pollet mpollet.doli@gmail.com
* Calyptrata - Daniel Whitmore D.Whitmore@nhm.ac.uk
* Ceratopogonidae - Art Borkent artborkent@telus.net Diptera anatomy and morphology - Rolf Beutel Rolf.Beutel@uni-jena.de
* Diptera biogeography – patterns and processes - Ashley Kirk-Spriggs ashley.kirk-spriggs@nasmus.co.za
* Empidoidea - Marc Pollet mpollet.doli@gmail.com
* Evolution and ecology of parasitoid Diptera - John Stireman john.stireman@wright.edu
* Fossil Diptera - Dan Bickel Dan.Bickel@austmus.gov.au, Christel Hoffeins chw.hoffeins@googlemail.com
* Global Dipterology - Torsten Dikow dikowt@si.edu, Thomas Pape tpape@snm.ku.dk
* Higher phylogeny - Brian Wiegmann brian_wiegmann@ncsu.edu
* Lower Brachycera Phylogeny - Torsten Dikow dikowt@si.edu
* Psychodidae - Rüdiger Wagner Ruediger.Wagner@uni-kassel.de
* Sciomyzidae - Mike Gormalli mike.gormally@nuigalway.ie
* Simuliidae - Doreen Werner Doreen.Werner@zalf.de
* Stalk-eyed flies - Philip Johns philip.m.johns@gmail.com, Richard Baker baker@amnh.org
* Syrphoidea- Ximo Mengual X.Mengual@zfmk.de
* Tephritoidea - Marc de Meyer marc.de.meyer@africamuseum.be
* Traps, attractants and collection techniques for dipterans - Andreas Rose andreas.rose@biogents.com

Post congress tours (leave on Saturday morning and end Monday evening)

The three following post congress tours are currently planned:

* Gdańsk (Poland) - the city of Baltic amber (amber museum, amber factory, sightseeing) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gdansk; http://www.en.gdansk.gda.pl/
* Thuringia (Germany) - collecting trip to Hainich National Park at "Thiemsburg" and Thuringian Forest at "Großer Inselsberg" http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hainich_National_Park; http://www.nationalpark-hainich.de/ueberblick/english.html with guided tour to Wartburg castle and accommodation in Eisenach
* Saxony (Germany) - collecting trip to Saxony Switzerland National Park (Elbe Sandstone Mountains) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saxon_Switzerland; http://www.nationalpark-saechsische-schweiz.de/red1/?set_lang_id=2 with guided tour in Meißen and accommodation in Pirna

Additional information will be posted on the congress webpage soon. The tours can be booked through our website once registration opens. Respective collecting permits will be organized upon request.
Comments
No Comments have been Posted.
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Ratings
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Date and time
12 April 2024 22:16
Login
Username

Password



Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Temporary email?
Due to fact this site has functionality making use of your email address, any registration using a temporary email address will be rejected.

Paul
Donate
Please, help to make
Diptera.info
possible and enable
further improvements!
Latest Articles
Syrph the Net
Those who want to have access to the Syrph the Net database need to sign the
License Agreement -
Click to Download


Public files of Syrph the Net can be downloaded HERE

Last updated: 25.08.2011
Shoutbox
You must login to post a message.

07.03.24 00:01
Some flies preserved in ethanol and then pinned often get the eyes sunken, how can this be avoided? Best answer: I usually keep alcohol-collected material in alcohol

17.08.23 15:23
Aneomochtherus

17.08.23 13:54
Tony, I HAD a blank in the file name. Sorry!

17.08.23 13:44
Tony, thanks! I tried it (see "Cylindromyia" Wink but don't see the image in the post.

17.08.23 11:37
pjt - just send the post and attached image. Do not preview thread, as this will lose the link to the image,

16.08.23 08:37
Tried to attach an image to a forum post. jpg, 32kB, 72dpi, no blanks, ... File name is correctly displayed, but when I click "Preview Thread" it just vanishes. Help!

23.02.23 21:29
Has anyone used the Leica DM500, any comments.

27.12.22 21:10
Thanks, Jan Willem! Much appreciated. Grin

19.12.22 11:33
Thanks Paul for your work on keeping this forum available! Just made a donation via PayPal.

09.10.22 17:07
Yes, dipterologists from far abroad, please buy your copy at veldshop. Stamps will be expensive, but he, the book is unreasonably cheap Smile

Render time: 0.13 seconds | 190,778,727 unique visits