View Thread
Diptera.info :: Miscellaneous :: General queries
Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Storing flies in alcohol
Carnota
#21 Print Post
Posted on 12-10-2007 12:38

I print the labels with a cheap laser printer in acid free paper and put them inside the Eppendorfs. Country, province, municipality, habitat, UTM coordinate, altitude, day and leg figure in the label.
Carnota attached the following image:

[96.07Kb]

Carnota
#22 Print Post
Posted on 12-10-2007 12:42

I do use also glass vials of several sizes.
I am not an expert, may be someone can give you (and me) better ideas.
Carnota attached the following image:

[68.62Kb]

crex
#23 Print Post
Posted on 12-10-2007 13:53

Thank you Carnota for the illustrations. I like the vials with flat bottom best. I have been browsing online Lab Equipment catalogues. The size of the tubes (in ml) seems to be pretty standardized. Best if I find a company in Sweden where I can buy it. I found some, but not all sells to private persons. I'm looking for the transparent, flat-bottomed tubes with twist-off caps.

Adrian
#24 Print Post
Posted on 22-10-2007 12:32

I have been using alcohol for about 30 years (for storing Diptera) and offer a few comments.
Firstly, change the alcohol a week or two after collecting the specimen as the original fluid will become diluted. After that, its probably OK.
I always use screw capped plastic vials (don't like Eppendorf's as the caps can pop off). These vials are sold by various manufacturers in different sizes as cryopreservation tubes and are highly inert and stable. Adding glycerol at 5% will minimize risks if it drys out.
Keep specimens in the dark and preferably cool/cold and colour losses are reduced.
If you want to subsequently pin the specimen, hold it in ethyl acetate until the ethanol has exchanged and then dry it out on filter paper (you will find that oily flies like therevids loose their fat and become much better than if you pinned them immediately).