· Tony Irwin01:33:40
· Volker01:49:37
· Arthur van O...02:36:54
· RamiP02:47:16
· evdb03:27:09
· Juergen Peters09:39:13
Latest Photo Additions
View Thread
Diptera.info :: Identification queries :: Diptera (adults)
Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Chaetorellia jaceae?
johnes81
#1 Print Post
Posted on 19-10-2016 00:36

Hello fellow members, I am new here. I am also new to the study of diptera. I always try to answer my own questions but a second opinion is comforting. I believe that I have made a few photos of Chaetorellia jaceae. I've searched for identification keys and I found a pdf book from the Royal Entomological society. Since I am new to this field, I am not sure about some of the terminology.

The keys for C. jaceae are as follows:
-anterior (towards head) supra-alar seta (hair) based on a yellow ground
-cell cup not extending beyond end of cell bm

here is the link to the pdf:
http://www.royens..._White.pdf
vide page 45 of 138 (page 42 of the actual page) for the keys

I do not know what the author means by "cell cup"
I think that the seta are based on a yellow ground.

I am hoping that an expert can confirm my identification of this species to be C. jaceae.

The possible species in Berlin are as follows:
Chaetorellia acrolophi
Chaetorellia jaceae
Chaetorellia loricata

I think that this fly is clearly not Chaetostomella cylindrica.
I've looked at Terellia tussilaginis and Orellia falcata but I cannot see a match.

Thank You very much.
johnes81 attached the following image:

[146.76Kb]

johnes81
#2 Print Post
Posted on 19-10-2016 00:54

I've attached a photo of the entire species.

I understand that the keys in the pdf book are only concerned with separation of two species: C. jaceae and C. loricata. If my assessment is correct, then we can eliminate C. loricata.

I do not have keys for C. acrolophi.

[123.58Kb]

johnes81
#3 Print Post
Posted on 24-10-2016 13:44

I found a pdf for identification of Iranian/Persian species which isn't helping.